Gothic mysteries of Koenigsberg
The accident caused the Kaliningrad archaeologists to sensation. During the exploration of the ruins of the Royal castle, they discovered an underground tunnel, built in the early XIV century. Such a large-scale medieval buildings on the territory of Russia to discover yet succeeded. Where does the secret tunnel? And many mysteries of its Gothic arches?
Gothic medieval underground passage discovered in the heart of Kaliningrad. It came across archaeologists who studied ruins of ancient Royal castle. Scientists call the find unique. Such medieval buildings previously never been found in Russia.
Medieval underground passage leading to the river was Amazing and, according to archaeologists, goes deep into the earth. The way out is most likely in one of the halls of the Cathedral on Kant island. A secret tunnel, according to experts, was built in the early XIV century by order of the Prussian king.
“This could be the move that led from the Royal castle towards the Cathedral. He could have arranged for safe messages to the main temple to the ruling dynasty could move out of the castle,” suggests archaeologist Anatoly Valuev.
It is noticeable that at a later time, the tunnel has been repeatedly restored. It was equipped with fasteners for electrical wires and water pipe for pumping water. Probably strengthened it for a reason.
During the war the castle was kept Continue reading
Youth Association “Hystorika” organized sightseeing trip “Gothic churches in Belarus”, in which I had the opportunity to participate.
Departure from Minsk was appointed on July 2, at 7:45 am. The bus was comfortable enough, the driver is very friendly, and the guide Alex Frolov – anatolev. The morning sun was shining, heralding a good day. However, with the weather we were not lucky, in the afternoon started raining, which has become a serious hindrance, if not for viewing the historical beauty of the region, at least for their photos gravirovani.
The route ran mostly along the Western part of Belarus, on the territory of Brest and Grodno regions. For visits were scheduled Iskold, Synkovichi, Zelva, Gniezno, Mstsibava, Siloviki, the parish and the Stomach.
The Church of the Holy Trinity, was founded in 1472 M. Nemirovich and is one of the oldest temples of Belarus. In the second half of the XVI century the Church was passed to the Calvinists, after 1641 it was again returned to the Catholics. In 1863 the Church was transferred to the Orthodox, then returned to the Catholics. In the 1970s the Church managed to defend from the threat of demolition and reconstruct.
The building has the appearance of a rectangle and ends with a five-wall apse. The walls are made of brick, the lower part ornamented with reticulate walls of dark brick. The front and the sides of the temple strengthened by massive buttresses. Narrow Windows resembling Continue reading